Mac Shelby Award

The M. D. “Mac” Shelby Award honors a Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) Research employee who provided exceptional leadership serving on any research or IAC project with the university during the previous fiscal year. Recipients of the award demonstrate leadership, technical expertise, ability to address special challenges, and dedication to research.

The Center for Transportation Research presents this award each year at the CTR Annual Symposium.


Establishment of the Award

Mac Shelby, the award’s namesake, was a 1933 University of Texas graduate in electrical engineering, a longtime research engineer with the Texas Highway Department (now TxDOT), from which he retired, and a Research Coordinator for the Texas Transportation Institute at Texas A&M University. Thus, he was associated with the two leading state engineering universities in Texas, as well as the state’s primary sponsor of transportation research.

In a letter proposing the establishment of the award in 1991, Dr. B. Frank McCullough, who was director of CTR at the time, praised Shelby as “a conscientious and dedicated individual who worked hard to provide the citizens of the state of Texas with an excellent highway system.”