Logo: CTR Symposium 2015

The Center for Transportation Research hosted its annual symposium on Wednesday, April 8, 2015. The theme of this year’s symposium was “Safety First: Keep ‘Em Rolling.”

Summary of the day

Media coverage

Event Photos

Photos from this event are posted on Facebook. Please feel free to tag yourself and friends in the 2015 CTR Symposium photo album

Time Title
11:30 am Poster Session & TxDOT Research Program Lunch
1:00 pm Opening statement
Dr. Chandra Bhat, Director, Center for Transportation Research
Dr. Sharon Wood, Dean, Cockrell School of Engineering
Mac Shelby Award: Andy Naranjo
Introduction of Keynote Speaker
Rob Harrison, Deputy Director, Center for Transportation Research
1:30 pm Keynote Presentation: Truck Safety in a Growing State
Anthony Cisneros, Director, H•E•B Transportation
2:00 pm Break:
Poster Session & H•E•B truck demonstration
2:30 pm Dynamic Traffic Modeling for TxDOT (Download presentation PDF)
Terry McCoy, Deputy District Engineer, TxDOT Austin District
Dr. Jen Duthie, Director, Network Modeling Center
3:00 pm Oversize/Overweight Vehicles and Safety Considerations (Download presentation PDF)
Mike Murphy, P.E., Research Engineer, Center for Transportation Research
3:15 pm Impact of Reduced Maintenance on Road Safety (Download Presentation PDF)
Dr. Zhanmin Zhang, Associate Professor, Fellow of Clyde Lee Endowed Professorship in Transportation Engineering
3:30 pm Objective and Proactive Measure of Road Safety Performance for the Austin District (Download Presentation PDF)
Dr. Hui Wu, Research Associate, Center for Transportation Research
4:00 pm Steel Bridge Research at Ferguson Structural Engineering Laboratory (Download Presentation PDF)
Dr. Todd Helwig, Associate Professor