Levin Wins CUTC’s MS Thesis Award

Photo of Michael Levin and his award.

Levin (shown here at TRB 2015 with Boyles) was also named D-STOP Student of the Year for 2014.

Congratulations to Michael Levin for winning the CUTC (Council of University Transportation Centers) Milton Pikarsky MS Thesis Award. This award continues a trend where almost every year  at least one of our CTR-funded transportation graduate students wins a thesis/dissertation CUTC national award. The Milton Pikarsky Memorial Award is given annually for the best Ph.D. dissertation and M.S. thesis in the field of science and technology in transportation studies. Winners in the MS Thesis category receive a $1500 honorarium. Read Michael Levin’s Student Spotlight.

Levin’s thesis advisor, Dr. Stephen Boyles, provided this insight into the award-winning submittal: “Michael’s thesis involves modeling for autonomous vehicles, and has three main contributions.  First, he incorporates autonomous vehicles into the traditional four-step planning model, accounting for both increases in capacity due to faster reaction times as well as additional demand due to empty relocation trips. Second, building towards a dynamic traffic assignment (DTA) model, he integrates drivers’ choice of departure time into the existing four steps.  Finally, building on the first two parts, the thesis proposes novel intersection controls for autonomous vehicles. This national award is intended to recognize the best MS thesis in transportation science and technology.  I’m proud of the work Michael has done, and am glad that he is being recognized with this award!”

Posted by Maureen Kelly  |  Category : Awards