CTR Research Staff Honors and Awards

Investment in transportation research has substantial payoffs for the traveling public. Every dollar invested yields $22 in direct dividends to Texas. CTR researchers have made substantial contributions and their efforts are recognized by their peers across the nation.

  • Kevin Folliard, Maria Juenger 2010 Wason Medal for Materials Research for a paper co-authored with three UT alumni (Dr. Kyle Riding, Assistant Professor at Kansas State University; Dr. Anton Schindler, Associate Professor at Auburn University; Dr. Jonathan Poole, CTL Group)
  • Richard Klingner 2010 Wilbur C. Schoeller Award from the Structural Engineers Association of Texas. Dr. Klingner was recognized for his teaching, research, and leadership of technical committees within ACI, TMS, and ASTM.
  • Randy Machemehl Innovative Projects Solutions Award from Women in Transportation Seminar (WTS) and a 2010 WTS International Award for a bicycle safety study conducted by CTR in partnership with the City of Austin.
  • Kara Kockelman 2010 Walter L. Huber Civil Engineering Research Prize from the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
  • Chandra Bhat 2010 Most Outstanding Faculty Award for Civil Engineering from the Student Engineering Council
  • Ken Stokoe 2010 H. Bolton Seed Medal from the Geo-Institute of ASCE
  • Todd Helwig, Joe Yura 2010 ASCE Moisseiff Award
  • Ellen Rathje, Ken Stokoe 2010 Hogentogler Award
  • Chandra Bhat 2010 S.S. Steinberg Award from the Research and Education Division of the American Road & Transportation Builders Association
  • Kara Kockelman, Cara Wang 2009 Young Researcher Award from the Transportation Research Board’s Committee on Statistical Methods (ABJ80)
  • Clyde Lee 2010 Traffic Simulation Pioneer Award from the Transportation Research Board Joint Subcommittee on Traffic Simulation
  • C. Michael Walton Road Hand Award from TxDOT
  • Carl Haas (with Benjamin McKeever, Rich Greer, and Professor José Weissman) 2009 D. Grant Mickle Award from the National Research Council’s Transportation Research Board
  • Maria Juenger 2009 Walter P. Moore, Jr. Faculty Achievement Award from the American Concrete Institute (ACI)
  • C. Michael Walton Selected as chairman of the TxDOT’s “2030 Committee” in 2009
  • James Jirsa American Concrete Institute 2009 Honorary Member for “outstanding accomplishments in the research areas of design, behavior, and durability of concrete structures”
  • Lance Manuel (with student Patrick Ragan) 2009 Best Journal Paper Award from the American Society of Mechanical Engineer’s Technical Committee on Wind Energy
  • Chandra Bhat 2008 CCTexITE Student Chapter Advisor Award from the Texas Institute of Transportation Engineers
  • Kara Kockelman 2008 Woman of the Year from the Texas Chapter of the WTS
  • Randy Machemehl 2008 Wilbur S. Smith Award from Transportation and Development Institute of the ASCE
  • Jorge Zornberg 2008 Achievement Award from the Mexican Chapter of the International Geosynthetics Society
  • Chandra Bhat Received a 2008 Jefferson Science Fellowship

Posted by clair  |  Category : Awards