2010 January

Chandra Bhat receives S.S. Steinberg Award

Chandra Bhat received the S.S. Steinberg Award from the Research and Education Division of the American Road & Transportation Builders Association. Chandra accepted the award at the January Transportation Research Board (TRB) in January 2010. Read more: http://www.artba.org/article/university-of-texas-professor-honored-with-artbas-research–education-division-award-/

Posted by clair  |  Category : Awards

TRB awards “2009 Young Researcher Award” to UT authors

Kara Kockelman and Cara Wang received the 2009 Young Researcher Award this year from the Transportation Research Board’s Committee on Statistical Methods (ABJ80) for paper titled “Application of the Dynamic Spatial Ordered Probit Model: Patterns of Ozone Concentration in Austin, Texas,” January 2010. In related TRB news, Dr. Kockelmen will step down from her position …

Posted by clair  |  Category : Awards

Austin Ranks #4 in America’s Worst Commutes

According to a recent study by The Daily Beast and traffic services company INRIX, Austin has the fourth worst commute in the nation. They discovered that commuters experience most of this frustration on I-35 with the worst bottleneck being Northbound around Riverside Drive. Kara Kockelman, professor at the Cockrell School of Engineering and UT traffic …

Posted by ashleyw@mail.utexas.edu  |  Category : News

Clyde Lee receives Pioneer Award from Transportation Research Board

The Transportation Research Board Joint Subcommittee on Traffic Simulation “Traffic Simulation Pioneer Award” was presented Tuesday, January 19, 2010, by committee chair Dr. Tom Rioux to Dr. Clyde Lee, Professor Emeritus of The University of Texas at Austin, for his pioneering efforts in traffic simulation starting with the TEXAS Model for Intersection Traffic in 1968. …

Posted by clair  |  Category : Awards

Engineers to receive national award from Transportation Research Board (from UT Austin web)

The National Research Council’s Transportation Research Board named a paper submitted by three University of Texas at Austin engineers and one University of Texas at San Antonio engineer, as the winner of the D. Grant Mickle Award. The award is given annually for the best paper in the area of operation, safety and maintenance. The …

Posted by clair  |  Category : Awards

CTR publishes report on Arterial Intelligent Transportation Systems

Applying Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS) to arterial systems allows TxDOT to significantly enhance transportation system operation efficiency and improve traffic mobility. However, no guidelines are available to assist TxDOT staff in selecting the most beneficial arterial ITS elements and desirable ITS technologies. To address these gaps, this study was initiated by TxDOT to investigate the …

Posted by ashleyw@mail.utexas.edu  |  Category : Publications

Mike Walton Receives TxDOT Road Hand Award (from CAEE Web)

C. Michael Walton, Professor in Transportation Engineering, was recently awarded the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) Road Hand Award. This award is an honored TxDOT tradition to acknowledge those who have made improvements to Texas transportation a labor of love. In the early days of the 20th century, anyone who helped build roads was called …

Posted by clair  |  Category : Awards