Many CTR Researchers Recognized for Their Excellent Work

CTR faculty and professional researchers have been greatly honored for their research contributions these last few months. Congratulations to everyone! Following are some highlights.

Paper/Publication Recognition


NMC Director Jen Duthie (photo by Miguel Gutierrez, Jr./KUT)

  • Jennifer Duthie and Mason Gemar (who left CTR just last month to work on GM’s Autonomous Vehicle Technology team in Austin), along with former student Zeina Wafa (M.S.E., 2014), won the 2016 TexITE Technical Paper Award for their paper, “Developing Design Guidelines for Right-Turn Slip Lanes.” TexITE is the Texas District of the Institute of Transportation Engineers. This award is presented annually to recognize an outstanding technical paper prepared by a non-student member or affiliate of TexITE. (Students have their own category to compete in.) This paper was an extension of the findings from TxDOT project 0-6810, in which CTR created design guidelines and standard drawings for TxDOT’s Roadway Design Manual, providing guidance for both new construction and retrofitting of right-turn slip lanes. In fact, this project’s findings were used to benefit actual traffic operations even before the project’s official end date—one of the primary researchers led a class for TxDOT staff at the October 2014 Short Course (a continuing education component of TxDOT).

CTR Director Chandra Bhat

  • Robyn Rosenberg, UT’s STEM Liaison Librarian for Engineering, contacted CTR to let us know that during the library’s promotion of Texas ScholarWorks (the UT digital repository), they decided to see which faculty member had the most downloads associated with their name. That name turned out to be that of our director, Chandra Bhat, whose 169 articles currently in Texas ScholarWorks have been downloaded 26,806 times (as of the end of October). Texas ScholarWorks was established to provide open, online access to the products of the University’s research and scholarship.

Industry Awards & Recognition

CTR Director Chandra Bhat has been given the Council of University Transportation Centers (CUTC) Lifetime Achievement in Transportation Education and Research Award (Academic). This award honors individuals who have had a long history of significant and outstanding contribution to university transportation education and research, resulting in a lasting contribution to transportation. CUTC will present Dr. Bhat with this prestigious award at the upcoming 2017 Annual Awards Banquet.

Chandra Bhat receiving CUTC award

CTR & D-STOP Director Chandra Bhat was presented with the Lifetime Achievement in Transportation Research & Education (Academic) award at the CUTC Annual Awards Banquet.

Dr. Todd Helwig

Dr. Todd Helwig

Todd Helwig has been named the 2017 AISC T.R. Higgins Lectureship Award winner.  He will receive this prestigious award at the NASCC: The Steel Conference, on March 222017, in San Antonio.  This award was based on Dr. Helwig’s outstanding scholarly publications and reputation as an engineer.  In addition to this honor, Dr. Helwig was recently inducted into the CAEE Academy of Distinguished Alumni, which was established to recognize the professional achievements and contributions of our graduates. The members of the academy also serve as leaders and role models among alumni and students.

Photo of Patricia Clayton

Dr. Patricia Clayton

Tricia Clayton has been selected for the American Institute of Steel Construction’s (AISC’s) Early Career Faculty Award. This award was initiated by AISC to provide recognition to individuals who demonstrate promise in the areas of structural steel research, teaching, and other contributions to the structural steel industry. Dr. Clayton will receive her award at NASCC, The Steel Conference, in San Antonio in March 2017. One of our newer faculty members, Dr. Clayton joined UT in 2013, where she specializes in work designed to reduce building damage and repair costs following earthquakes.

Posted by Maureen Kelly  |  Category : Awards