Mike Walton Inducted into Texas Transportation Hall of Honor

On December 1, 2014, CTR was honored as Dr. C. Michael Walton was inducted into the Texas Transportation Hall of Honor. The ceremony took place at the AT&T Conference Center with many key figures in the Texas transportation field in attendance. (See our Facebook photo album of the event.)

The Hall of Honor, established in January 2000, provides the opportunity for transportation professionals to recognize the state’s pioneering transportation leaders. Dr. Walton joins as the 40th member of this Hall of Honor.

Photo: Mike Walton and other transportation VIPs pose with Dr. Waltons Texas Transportation Hall of Honor plaque

Dr. Walton’s plaque will be permanently displayed at the Hall of Honor, located in College Station. Presenters pictured (left to right): Rubio, Bhat, Watson, Walton, Barton, Christiansen, Skinner.

The induction ceremony followed the 2014 CTR Texas Distinguished Lecture Series in Transportation. After a welcome from CTR Director Chandra Bhat, the Hall of Honor Board Chair Dennis Christiansen provided an overview of the Hall of Honor’s history and role in Texas transportation. Then some of Dr. Walton’s colleagues and collaborators remarked on his distinguished career. These speakers included Bob Skinner (Executive Director, Transportation Research Board), John Barton (Deputy Executive Director, Texas Department of Transportation), Linda Watson (President & CEO, Capital Metropolitan Transportation Authority), Nicholas Rubio (US President, Cintra), Sharon Wood (Dean, Cockrell School of Engineering), and Valerie Briggs (Director, National Highway Institute).

Dr. Walton has had a long and distinguished career at UT Austin since joining the faculty as the Cockrell School of Engineering (Civil, Architectural & Environmental Engineering Department) in 1971. Now the Ernest H. Cockrell Centennial Chair in Engineering, he has contributed more than 500 publications in areas related to freight planning and policy, intelligent transportation systems, and urban planning, and has delivered hundreds of technical presentations.

In addition to his scholarly contributions, he has been a transformative figure in bridging the gap between research and practice, though his service on several Boards of Directors of publicly and privately held companies, his research and consulting relationships with many US state departments of transportation, and his professional leadership activities with the Transportation Research Board, the American Road and Transportation Builders Association, the American Society of Civil Engineers, and the National Academies. Dr. Walton is a member of the National Academy of Engineering.

In Texas, Dr. Walton has contributed in substantial ways to the profession. He was elected chairman of the Texas Department of Transportation’s (TxDOT’s) “2030 Committee,” charged with overseeing a comprehensive update of Texas transportation needs into the future. He is currently chairing a TxDOT statewide technology panel responsible for recommending technology use in transportation planning and operations. He also has participated in innumerable studies contributing to the planning, operations, and regulatory policies associated with rail and truck traffic in the state, including the I-35 corridor study, the Latin American Trade Transportation Study, port-related traffic, and the Mexico-US border truck operations.

Dr. Walton is perhaps the most visible and well recognized professional today in the field of transportation the world over. This reputation and recognition has been built upon more than 40 years of service to the profession as a teacher, a researcher, a mentor, and a passionate contributor to the transportation profession.

Posted by Maureen Kelly  |  Category : Awards