Longhorns Win 2014 ITE International Traffic Bowl

On August 12 CTR students triumphed at the 2014 Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE) International Collegiate Traffic Bowl. Graduate students Jake Gutekunst, Tyler Beduhn, Megan Hoklas, and undergraduate student Solomon Nyanhongo represented UT Austin at the final showdown in Seattle, after winning the district championship in May 2014 (and ending Texas A&M’s four-year winning streak at the district level). The team was led to victory by coaches Meredith Cebelak, a CTR Ph.D. student, and Dr. Mason Gemar, a CTR researcher. CTR’s team made it to the championship in Seattle by showcasing their traffic engineering and planning skills in a high-pressure Jeopardy!-style setting. The objective of the competition is to encourage students to become more active members of ITE, enhance their knowledge of the traffic/transportation engineering and planning profession, strengthen ITE student chapters, and foster a collegial spirit among our future engineers.

In UT Austin’s first appearance at the finals, the team competed against Brigham Young University, Clemson University, Penn State University, Purdue University, UMass-Amherst, University of Florida, University of Kansas, and University of Toronto. In all, 63 other schools from the U.S. and Canada played in either a Section or District Traffic Bowl to reach the finals. Nice work, team!

Posted by Maureen Kelly  |  Category : Awards