CTR Students and Faculty Win Big at CUTC Awards

News Release
For Immediate Release
December 10, 2013

AUSTIN, Texas – Three recent graduates from the Center for Transportation Research at UT-Austin have been given awards by the Council for University Transportation Centers.

Christina Bernardo received the C.V. Wootan Award for Best MS Thesis in Planning and Policy, while Sriram Narayanamoorthy and Rajesh Paleti both were awarded the Milton Pikarsky Award for Best MS Thesis and Best PhD Dissertation, respectively, for Science and Technology.

The awards will be presented during the Transportation Research Board Annual Meeting in Washington, DC on January 12, 2014.

“Only four of these student awards are given each year, so for our students to win three of these prestigious awards makes me incredibly proud and happy. They truly are thought leaders among their peers, and are shining examples of the caliber of students we have here”, said CTR Director, Dr. Chandra Bhat.

Dr. Bhat was the supervisor for the three students, and provided guidance on their research.

Christina’s award-winning thesis examined how work policies in the United States impact the daily routines of dual-earner families. Sriram’s thesis created a model to analyze bicycle and pedestrian injuries. Rajesh’s dissertation looks at household vehicle ownership, and created a model to determine how vehicle fleets evolve over time.

Also receiving national recognition, CTR faculty member Amit Bhasin has been awarded the New Faculty Award from CUTC. This award recognizes significant achievements of young faculty members.

“We are so fortunate to have Amit. He’s a research leader in his field, and an incredible mentor for our students. His research is absolutely cutting-edge, and he truly deserves this credit. It’s another great example of our faculty and researchers being at the forefront of intellectual innovation”, continued Bhat.

The CUTC Annual Winter Meeting & Banquet will take place in conjunction with the TRB Annual Meeting on January 11-12, 2014. The Annual Awards Banquet will start at 5:30 p.m. with a cocktail reception followed by the awards program on January 11, 2014.


For more information: Joey Williams – – 512.484.1135

Posted by Joey Williams  |  Category : Awards