Dr. Walton to serve on new National Freight Advisory Committee

Dr. C. Michael Walton, Ernest H. Cockrell Centennial Chair in Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin USDOT Secretary Ray LaHood today tapped CTR faculty member, Dr. C Michael Walton, to be a member of the National Freight Advisory Committee. This 47 member committee is comprised of a diverse group of transportation professionals tasked to improve the national freight transportation system.

“The strength of our economy and the strength of our national freight system go hand in hand,” said Secretary LaHood. “The members of this committee understand firsthand the critical importance of freight movement, and their valuable insight will help ensure that our system is more secure and better connected.”

Dr. Walton’s extensive and widely published career span 40 years in the areas of freight transport, transportation engineering, planning, policy and economic, as well as ITS.

Click here if you’d like to learn more about Dr. Walton and his distinguished career at CTR.

Posted by Joey Williams  |  Category : Researchers