Funding Scenarios for Texas Transportation: The 2030 Committee’s Enhanced Analysis

The 2030 Committee, which assessed the state’s transportation funding needs for the next two decades in a 2009 report, will present an updated analysis to the Texas Transportation Commission on Thursday, March 31.

Entitled It’s About Time: Investing in Transportation to Keep Texas Economically Competitive, the report is an enhanced analysis of the current and future state of the Texas transportation system. It examines the vital components of our system — pavements, bridges, urban mobility and rural connectivity — and forecasts alternate levels of service for each component. The comprehensive report also analyzes potential sources of transportation revenue and predicts the future consequences of under-funding the system.

The 2030 Committee is comprised of Texas business leaders and was originally created in 2008 by Commission Chair Deirdre Delisi. She reconvened the committee in July 2010 for this new assignment.

Experts from the Texas Transportation Institute at The Texas A&M University System, the Center for Transportation Research at The University of Texas at Austin and researchers with The University of Texas at San Antonio comprised the project team.
Following the presentation to the Texas Transportation Commission Thursday morning, members of the 2030 Committee will be available to the media for questions.

2030 Committee members (list attached)
Dewitt C. Greer Building
Delegation Room, First Floor
125 E. 11th Street, Austin
Thursday, March 31, 2011
9:00 a.m. – 2030 Committee presentation to the Texas Transportation Commission
10:00 a.m. – 2030 Committee media availability
2030 Committee Members
C. Michael Walton (Chair)
Ernest Cockrell Centennial Chair in Engineering
The University of Texas at Austin
David Marcus (Vice Chair)
Managing Partner
Marcus, Fairall, Bristol + Co., LLP
El Paso
Ken Allen
Senior Vice President (Retired)
Supply Chain and Logistics
San Antonio
Drew Crutcher
Landgraf, Crutcher and Associates, Inc.
The Honorable Ed Emmett
Harris County Judge
Judy Hawley
Port of Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi
Tom Johnson
Executive Vice President
Associated General Contractors of Texas
Cullen Looney
Attorney at Law
Roger Nober
Executive Vice President – Law and Secretary
BNSF Railway Company
Fort Worth
Gary Thomas
President and Executive Director
Dallas Area Rapid Transit

Posted by clair  |  Category : News