Engineers to receive national award from Transportation Research Board (from UT Austin web)

The National Research Council’s Transportation Research Board named a paper submitted by three University of Texas at Austin engineers and one University of Texas at San Antonio engineer, as the winner of the D. Grant Mickle Award.

The award is given annually for the best paper in the area of operation, safety and maintenance. The title of the paper is “A Life Cycle Cost-Benefit Model for Road Weather Information Systems”. The paper’s objective is to provide a systematic methodology for highway agencies to evaluate the costs and benefits associated with implementing Road Weather Information Systems. In order to ensure safer driving conditions on highways, state highway agencies are exploring new technologies that will improve the flow of information about hazardous road conditions. These technologies are called Road Weather Information Systems.

Dr. Carl Haas, professor of civil engineering at UT Austin, graduate student Benjamin McKeever, and researcher Rich Greer collaborated on the paper and case study with Dr. Jose Weissman of UT San Antonio.

The report included a case study that evaluated the cost benefit implementing Road Weather Information Systems on Interstate 20 near Abilene, Texas. The model determined that it was cost beneficial to implement this system. The Texas Department of Transportation sponsored the project.

The Certificate of Award will be presented at the Transportation Research Board’s Annual Meeting on Jan. 13, 1999 in Washington, D.C. The mission of the Transportation Research Board is to promote innovation and progress in transportation by stimulating and conducting research, facilitating the dissemination of information, and encouraging the implementation of research results. The board was organized in 1920 and is a unit of the National Research Council, which is the principal working arm of the corporate institution that includes the National Academy of Science, the National Academy of Engineering and the Institute of Medicine.

Posted by clair  |  Category : Awards